June 25, 2024, 05:40:03 PM

News:

Own IWBasic 2.x ? -----> Get your free upgrade to 3.x now.........

EACH command and ++

Started by Andy, December 03, 2015, 12:59:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andy

December 03, 2015, 12:59:56 AM Last Edit: December 03, 2015, 01:03:02 AM by andy1966
Hi,

Whilst looking at some code to read an excel file, I came across the EACH command, It's a command I have never used before and the help file does not shed any light on it for me.

IF pTables <> NULL
FOR temp = EACH pTables as STRING
PRINT "Sheet name - ",#temp
PRINT "Cardinality:",dbCardinality(pDB,#temp)
PRINT "\tColumns:"
pColumns = dbListColumns(pDB,#temp)

IF pColumns <> NULL
FOR temp2 = EACH pColumns as STRING
PRINT "\t\tColumn name:",#temp2
NEXT
ListRemoveAll(pColumns,TRUE)
ENDIF
NEXT
ListRemoveAll(pTables,TRUE)
ELSE
PRINT "Unable to list tables"
ENDIF

I presume EACH means something like
FOR temp2 = 1 to (say 10) or FOR temp2 = 0 to 9?

I also noticed that the NEXT does not have NEXT temp2.

Another little question:
I know A += 1 adds one to A, but what does A ++ do? - it looks like they mean the same thing...
Been meaning to ask this little one for some time.

Thanks,
Andy.
:)

Day after day, day after day, we struck nor breath nor motion, as idle as a painted ship upon a painted ocean.

Brian

Andy,

A++ means increment A by 1 - instead of typing A=A+1

Brian

LarryMc

Brian's correct
the following lines of code accomplish the same thing
A = A + 1
A += 1
A++

as does
A = A - 1
A -= 1
A--

As for FOR/EACH loops
look first at the Language>Loop Statements > For / Each Statement section of the help file which takes you to the
Using Linked List section. Refer to the Iterating the List sub-section.

From comparing the 'simple' form in the help file with example code you posted it should be evident that the dbListColumns command returned a linked list pointed to by pColumns

A FOR/EACH loop works pretty much works like a FOR/NEXT loop but  there is no NEXT.