June 26, 2024, 01:46:11 AM

News:

IonicWind Snippit Manager 2.xx Released!  Install it on a memory stick and take it with you!  With or without IWBasic!

Running the debugger

Started by Arghwell, August 28, 2008, 02:56:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Arghwell

I am new to Emergence basic, but from what I've seen so far it's very good. But one problem I am having is with the debugger. On my latest program when I do a debug compile of the program all I get is a black screen and I have to turn the computer off to regain control. I suspect that I am doing something stupid (or not doing something I obviously should do) but I don't know what ! Any ideas/suggestions? :(

Ionic Wind Support Team

Just building a debug executable wouldn't cause it.  I suppose you mean you are trying to run the executable?

Debugging is covered in the users guide.  Use the STOP command to insert debugging breakpoints, and DebugPrint to show output from your program while the program is being run in debug mode.

After you build the debug executable use Build->debug->start to begin the debug session.

One thing to watch out for is full screen 2D or 3D programs, if you are debugging and get an error it can be difficult to get back to the IDE to see what has happened.  Use ALT-TAB to switch to it.

Paul Turley
Ionic Wind Software
Ionic Wind Support Team

Arghwell

Sorry - yes I did mean running the executable.

I now have a program (with a 2D screen) that compiles and runs with no problem, but if I add a STOP statement and do a debug compile and run it I loose control of my PC - all I have is a black screen + cursor. ALT-TAB brings up the program bar but none of the buttons work. I then have to cntl-alt-delete and stop the program running in order to return to the emergence basic IDE but when I get back into the IDE nothing works. I then have to close the IDE at which point I get a message saying that this will stop the debugger!